Department of Political Science: About

The Department of Political Science was set up in 1969 and Political Science (H) started in 2002. The Department since its inception has been actively engaged in quality teaching and research in the theoretical and applied fields of political science. The department consist eleven qualified and dynamic faculties excluding guest faculties. The objective of the department of political science is to encourage the students for overall development. The department is not only organising academic activities but also extracurricular activities. Under the banner of PRERNA, a political science association, the department holds various events like debate, quiz, discussion, expert lectures, field survey etc. The alumni of the Department are occupying various good positions in their professional life.

The department has 3 year regular full time courses for B.A.(H) and B.A. (P). based on CBCS (Choice Based Credit System).

The Profile of the faculty is as follows.

  • Ashwani Jassal, Assistant Professor, (M.A., M.Phil.)
  • Kumar Prashant, Associate Professor, (T.I.C., 2017-18), (M.A., M.Phil.)
  • Ritesh Bhardwaj, Assistant Professor, (M.A. MPhil., Ph.D.)
  • Ramesh Kumar, Associate Professor, (M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.)
  • Sandhya Verma, Assistant Professor, (M.A., Ph.D.)
  • Ila Bhushan Jain, Assistant Professor, (M.A., M.Phil.)